cloudyPartly Cloudy, 95.0°


I finally have caught on to the terms that replaced Division I-A and Division I-AA in college football. I now know that the FBS is what we used to call Division I-A and that the FCS is what we used to call Division I-AA. What I don’t know is what the letters FBS and FCS mean. Help!


The FBS is the Football Bowl Subdivision, which consists of 120 schools. A good way to remember that there are 120 schools is to memorize that the 2011 Kansas football team ranked 120th in the nation in scoring defense. The FCS stands for the Football Championship Subdivision, which also has 120 members. North Dakota State (13-1), the school that in 2010 defeated Turner Gill’s KU team and lost to Terry Allen’s Missouri State squad, will face Sam Houston State (14-0) in the FCS title game Jan. 7. Pittsburg State won the NCAA Division II championship Dec. 17 by defeating Wayne State, 35-21.

Full site