sunnyFair, 66.0°


Which Kansas legislators went to the American Legislative Exchange Council meeting?


ALEC, which includes legislators and representatives of corporate interests who write proposed legislation that is then introduced in state capitols nationwide, is holding its annual meeting in New Orleans from Wednesday through today.
At least 19 Kansas legislators, all Republicans, are attending, according to the Kansas Division of Legislative Administrative Services.
They include state Sens. Terry Bruce of Hutchinson, Garrett Love of Montezuma, Julia Lynn of Olathe, Ray Merrick of Stilwell, Ralph Ostmeyer of Grinnell, Chris Steineger of Kansas City, and state Reps. Rob Bruchman of Overland Park, Terry Calloway of Pittsburg, Terri Lois Gregory of Baldwin City, Amanda Grosserode of Lenexa, Lance Kinzer of Olathe, Marvin Kleeb of Overland Park, Forrest Knox of Altoona, Kelly Meigs of Lenexa, Susan Mosier of Manhattan, Larry Powell of Garden City, John Rubin of Shawnee, Ron Ryckman of Meade and Scott Schwab of Olathe.
Under policy set by legislators, Kansas taxpayers will pay the expenses of Merrick and Powell because they are both office members with ALEC. Many legislators attend by getting scholarships provided through corporate donations. State policy allows all of those attending to charge the state for their registration fees, which are $475 per person.

Full site