sunnyFair, 45.0°

Question

It seems like Lawrence Municipal Court is charging a higher fee to have your driver’s license reinstated. What is up with that?

Answer

The city in late April did add a $17.50 surcharge to the $59 driver’s license reinstatement fee. Municipal courts across the state were ordered by the Kansas Supreme Court to add the fee as a way to compensate for cuts to the state’s judicial branch budget. The fee increase was approved by the 2010 Kansas Legislature.

Full LJWorld.com site