sunnyFair, 74.0°


I read where there are 39 different government councils or boards in Douglas County. Can you tell me what they are?


Yes. According to information from the Douglas County Treasurer’s Web site, there are 39 different government units that levy a property tax mill levy in the county. There are others, such as rural water district boards that are quasi-governmental, but do not levy taxes. The taxing groups are: Douglas County, city of Lawrence, city of Baldwin City, city of Eudora, city of Lecompton, Clinton Township, Eudora Township, Grant Township, Kanwaka Township, Lecompton Township, Marion Township, Palmyra Township, Wakarusa Township, Willow Springs Township, USD 497 Lawrence, USD 348 Baldwin City, USD 491 Eudora, USD 287 Franklin Co., USD 289 Franklin Co., USD 348 Jefferson Co., USD 434 Osage Co., USD 450 Shawnee Co., Douglas County Kaw Drainage District, Wakarusa Haskell Eudora Drainage District, Wakarusa Kaw Drainage District, Weaver Bottoms Drainage District, Clinton Cemetery Board, Colyer Cemetery Board, Easterview Cemetery Board, Maple Grove Cemetery Board, Stull Cemetery Board, Twin Mound Cemetery Board, United Cemetery Association, Osage County Fire District No. 4, Lecompton Fire District No. 1, Tauy Creek Watershed District No. 82, Wakarusa Watershed District No. 35, Northeast Kansas Library Association and USD 348 Recreation Commission.

Full site