sunnyFair, 46.0°


The NCAA scholarship limit for basketball is 13. By my count, Kansas has 14 players on scholarship: Cole Aldrich, Sherron Collins, C.J. Henry, Xavier Henry, Elijah Johnson, Mario Little, Brady Morningstar, Marcus Morris, Markieff Morris, Tyrel Reed, Travis Releford, Thomas Robinson, Tyshawn Taylor and Jeff Withey. Does this mean a player will have to transfer before the school year starts?


No. C.J. Henry’s tuition is being paid by the New York Yankees, a stipulation in the contract he signed with them after being selected in the first round of the 2005 baseball draft. He also received a signing bonus of $1.575 million, $1 million of which was paid upfront. Because Henry does not count against the scholarship limit, Kansas is right at the maximum 13.

Full site