light_rainLight Rain, 47.0°


How did the Kansas members of the U.S. House vote on the immigration bill that so many folks are protesting against?


HR 4437, called the Border Protection, Antiterrorism and Illegal Immigration Control Act of 2005, was approved by the House 239-182, with 13 not voting, on Dec. 16, 2005. All four Kansas House members voted for it. That includes Dennis Moore, D-Lenexa, Jim Ryun, R-Lawrence, Todd Tiahrt, R-Goddard, and Jerry Moran, R-Hays.
The bill would have made unlawful presence in the country a felony, which means undocumented immigrants, and people or organizations that assisted them, could face jail time.
The measure also called for building a fence between the United States and Mexico in Arizona and California.
A bipartisan plan in the Senate has stalled, and Congress is expected to take up immigration again after the Easter recess.

Full site