sunnyFair, 21.0°

On the street: What’s your opinion on the 2016 Kansas legislative session?

Asked at Massachusetts Street on June 3, 2016

Bob Schumm, self-employed, Lawrence

Photo of Bob Schumm

“A complete failure.”

Debbie Garber, pastor, Lawrence

Photo of Debbie Garber

“Dysfunctional and dissatisfying, and I hope they get their act together.”

Claire Harding, mom, Eudora

Photo of Claire Harding

“I’m sorely disappointed, specifically about public education funding.”

Lyle Oliver, retired superintendent, Lawrence

Photo of Lyle Oliver

“You mean the nonexistent Kansas legislative session? I think it’s a total disgrace.”

Comments

Michael Kort

It sucks, they suck, throw the republican bums out !

1 year, 5 months ago

Report

Larry Sturm

Put them in jail for contempt of court.

1 year, 5 months ago

Report

Joe Blackford II

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EZDBX...

Pissin' in the Wind

Jerry Jeff Walker

Pissin' in the wind, bettin' on a losing friend

Makin' the same mistakes, we swore we'd never make again

And we're pissin' in the wind, but it's blowing on all our friends

We're gonna sit and grin and tell our grandchildren

/sarchasm

1 year, 5 months ago

Report

Brandon Devlin

You beat me to it. . .

1 year, 5 months ago

Report

Richard Heckler

GOP members claim supreme court rulings do not apply to them.

http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/edi...

1 year, 5 months ago

Report

Maddy Griffin

No comment. It would probably get me banned if I posted it.

1 year, 5 months ago

Report

Chris Warman

This country has gotten where it is in spite of politics, not by the aid of it. That we have carried as much political bunk as we have and still survived shows we are a super nation.
WILL ROGERS, Daily Telegram, Nov. 1, 1932

1 year, 5 months ago

Report

Bob Forer

Where are the right wing republicans? I think they are afraid to show their faces.

1 year, 5 months ago

Report

Phillip Chappuie

As bad as reality TV. Except an all too bad reality. Many of them have violated their constitutional oath and have conducted themselves in a horrible, horrible manner.

1 year, 5 months ago

Report

Fred Whitehead Jr.

Oh, you should not ask questions about that! You might learn some new (and unprintable) disgusting terms for disgusting, dishonest, disabled, incompetent, need I go on???????

1 year, 5 months ago

Report

Calvin Anders

I would review this legislative session as a play. It was just about the worst political theater I've seen in decades. Deceptive, mud slinging, partisan politics is supposed to be more fun. When these legislators try to distract us with silly wedge issues to draw attention from their real agenda, the distractions should at least be creative and entertaining. These guys could not be bothered to come up with interesting distractions. Just a little shameful bigotry in the name of religious freedom. None of the dialog was witty or insightful, none of the ideas well conceived. And their acting seemed wooden and insincere. And the ending leaves huge plot points unresolved. This was more fiasco than legislative session. Zero stars.

1 year, 5 months ago

Report

Richard Heckler

The United States of ALEC.

This film, featuring Bill Moyers, does a masterful job of explaining how the closed-door manipulations of the American Legislative Exchange Council and its corporate lobbyists affect public policy in every realm of our society — including education.

Our nation spends about $500 billion in local, state and federal funds on public schools from kindergarten through high school. Most Americans view this as a wise investment in our nation’s future. Throughout the 20th century the U.S. was the clear leader in public education. We created the most vibrant economy the world has ever known. The record speaks for itself — public education is a great investment.

But there are people who look at our investment in public education, and they see a treasure chest. Their first thought is, how can they tap into those funds for their own private gain? If just one percent of education spending were diverted to private profit, it would mean $5 billion a year in someone’s pockets. And that’s just counting K-12; higher education is already a huge for-profit sector.

A simple fact of business: You have to spend money to make money. And those who want to privatize education are willing to spend lots of money and effort to push their agenda. One of the main ways they are doing this is through ALEC.

ALEC has pushed education vouchers, which use public funds to pay for private schools, for years. They haven’t been deterred by the fact that voters have rejectedvouchers time and time again. In states where courts held that vouchers weren’t legal, they have looked for loopholes in the law.

Currently there are at least five different bills drafted by ALEC that use various approaches to divert public funds to private schools. They all have one thing in common: They undermine our capacity to create great public schools in every neighborhood, by diverting scarce resources that public schools desperately need.

Today, 17 states offer 33 programs that allow parents to use taxpayer money to send their children to private schools. This includes traditional vouchers as well as tax-credit scholarship programs that give individuals or corporations tax reductions if they donate to scholarship funds. My home state of Arizona adopted this tactic.

Vouchers are only one side of ALEC’s education agenda. If they can’t get public funds for private schools, they try to privatize the public schools.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/dennis-...

http://www.alecexposed.org/wiki/ALEC_...

Taxpayers should want more tax dollars spent on public education because it brings our tax dollars home that stay in our respective communities which are spent in many many many local economies.

1 year, 5 months ago

Report

Full LJWorld.com site